Soil and Water Conservation District

Annual Awards 2013-14

Friend of Conservation

Joyce Isaacson; East Pott. County Farm Bureau

 Izaak Walton Windbreak Award

Established 2013--Mac & Doris Bane

New 2013--Tim Pieken

Established 2014--Claire Vance

Outstanding Conservation Education

Riverside Community School District

Ken Wagner Award

Pete Hobson -- 2013

Ruth Wagner Award

Russ Brandes --2013

 Conservation Teacher of the Year 2013

Mr. Brent Ehlers

Riverside Community School District

 Soil Stewardship Poster Winners

1st Place--Dakota Fox; AHST

2nd Place--Jackson Woltman; AHST

3rd Place--Charlotte Williamson; AHST

 Scholarship Winner

Riverside Senior


Michael Wilson

The year at a glance....

  • Surveyed 85,500 ft of terraces in Fall 2012, 75,050 ft in Spring 2013; 46,450 ft Summer 2013


  • 5.3 acres of waterways


  • installed one Grade Stabilization Structure


  • Installed One Feedlot w/producer through EQIP


  • the drill is keeping busy, seeding 276 acres this year
  • 14 well closures this year


  • approximately 2/3 or our East Pott. 2nd/3rd graders participated in our monthly afterschool conservation superhero club program

 Ed Kleen Award

Aaron Schnepel 2013

Dean & Kami Willett 2014  

This award honors the former District Commissioner, Ed Kleen, who was tragically killed in an automobile accident.  The recipient is someone who displays "all around" soil conservation and leadership. 

Think about those words ...

all around means many sided, well-rounded, or to be good in a EVERY aspect of your field.

soil practices to CONSERVE, PROTECT and RESTORE our soil.

leadership means to provide guidance, instruction, direction; to identify the purpose and then set goals to achieve the task; to coach, support and delegate when/where needed; having the perfect amount of respect for others and yourself; balancing drive and determination; AND being able to make decisions in a split second that impact not just youi but many...this award is designed to honor someone doing ALL of that!


An Equal Opportunity Employer and Provider

Congratulations! Del Brehmer Family has been selected as a recipient of the IOWA FARM ENVIRONMENTAL LEADER AWARD 2015

Join us in honoring them on August 19th, 9am-11am Penningroth Center, at the Iowa State Fair where the awards will be presented by Govenor Branstad, Iowa Secretary Bill Northey,and Iowa DNR Director Chuck Gipp. 

Conservation Farmer of the Year

Norris & Jeff Buckingham

Pasture Award

Wayne Sievers

Owner Operator Award

Ralph Jackson