East Pottawattamie County Soil & Water Conservation District



The East Pottawattamie Soil & Water Conservation District has five non-partisan commissioners selected in the general election who direct the programs of the district. In addition, the district has five assistant commissioners who advise and aid in various ways.






Cost Share & Maintenance





Jordan Creek Watershed

Project Page





Awards Picnic


Water Monitoring

Conservation Scholarship

District Enhancement Areas

Rental Equipment


Conservation Links

Contact Us

                      Commissioners                                                                                   Assistant Commissioners

Bobby Zimmerman Commissioner--Chair/Check Signer--Lincoln Township                                               John Thomas  -- Belknap Township  

Kami Willett Commissioner--Vice Chair-------------Pleasant Township                                                           Bryce Gehrmann  -- Carson Township

Bernie Bolton  Commissioner--Check Signer-----------Belknap Township                                                       Thad Bridges  -- Waveland Township                                          

Dwight "Pete" Hobson Commissioner --Treasurer-----------Valley Township                                       Norma Bolton  -- Belknap Township

Lowell Forristall Commissioner----------------- Carson Township                                                                    Russ Brandes  -- James Township

                                                                                                                                                             Terry Gleaves -- Belknap Township


                                                                                        Marlyn VonWeihe -- Associate 

                                                                                        Darrell Stamp -- Associate

                                                                                        Jeff Krueger -- Associate

                                                                                        Duane Nielsen -- Associate


Field Office Staff:

The Natural Resources Conservation Service, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Pottawattamie County, Pheasants Forever and East Pottawattamie Soil and Water Conservation District employees assist in the mission.

NEW team member to East Pottawattamie/Shelby counties

My name is Tood Perdew and I am the Soil Conservationist in the East Pott./Shelby Management Unit. I started my duties here in early May of 2013. While I am new to the area, I am not new to the NRCS. I worked for 15 years as a technician in Ringold County and before my career with NRCS I was involved in aagronomy sales. I really have enjoyed my experiences so far in the Shelby and East Pott. counties and look forward to getting to know my team and community members. 

Karla Focht --District Conservationist                                                     Dave Burmeister --District Technician

Becky Lockwood --State Secretary                                                       Todd Purdew --Resource Conservationist 

Jamie Meek --Education Coordinator                                                      Kayle Ausdemore -- Office Assistant

Terry Gleaves --Federal Technician                                                      



An Equal Opportunity Employer and Provider